Hospice Home Services: the 4 Types You Are Entitled to in Indiana

A recovering woman in her bed with a friend next to herIn general, hospice care is a type of healthcare for the terminally ill specialised to relieve them the pain and offer them comfort. There are four types of hospice home services: continuous nursing care, general inpatient care, respite care and routine home care, all of which you are entitled to receive in Indiana.

While the most common services are usually in a controlled facility, there are outpatient hospice services you receive in your Indiana home, which you should also consider when planning for hospice care.

Here is a closer look at the four levels as mentioned above.

Continuous Nursing Care (inpatient)

In this type of hospice care, the patient’s symptoms are usually out of control. A trained hospice nurse offers nursing care to the patient around the clock. You, however, do not have to leave the comfort of your home to receive continuous nursing care services.

General Inpatient Care (outpatient)

This type of hospice care is similar to continuous nursing care, in that the patient’s symptoms are also out of hand, except that hospice nurses need the patient to be in a controlled facility to monitor and to take aggressive actions in managing the patient’s conditions.

Respite Care (outpatient)

A patient may be having symptoms that caregivers can easily manage from his/her home, but when the hospice nurses need a break, s/he can move to a respite care facility, which can be in a long-term care facility, hospice unit or hospital.

Routine Home Care (inpatient)

This service is the most common type of hospice care. It includes scheduled visits to the patient’s traditional residence from different persons, including volunteers, case managers, and spiritual care specialists, as the patient’s physician and the hospice team shall deem fit depending on the patient’s needs.

Also, while any patient receiving hospice care is, typically, on one of the four levels, they can move to a different degree of care depending on the service that would best meet their need at that particular instance.